Ads 468x60px

Cook Islands - Recipe for True Paradise

The Cook Islands is a parliamentary majority rules system in the South Pacific Ocean in unhindered companionship with New Zealand. It contains 15 humble islands whose aggregate area range is 240 square kilometres (92.7 sq mi). The Cook Islands' Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), be that as it may, blankets 1,800,000 square kilometres (690,000 sq mi) of ocean.

The Cook Islands' defence and unfamiliar issues are the avocation of New Zealand, in counsel with the Cook Islands. As of late, the Cook Islands have embraced an in an ever widening margin free strange arrangement. Admitting that Cook Islanders are natives of New Zealand, they have the status of Cook Islands nationals, which is not given to other New Zealand residents.

The Cook Islands' prevailing people centres are on the island of Rarotonga (14,153 in 2006), where there is a global hangar. There is a much greater residents of Cook Islanders in New Zealand, especially the North Island. In the 2006 enumeration, 58,008 self-recognized as being of ethnic Cook Islands Māori descent.

With around 100,000 guests going to the islands in the 2010–11 monetary year, tourism is the nation's essential industry, and the heading component of the economy, far in advance of seaward keeping money, pearls, and marine and soil grown foods sends out. 


The Cook Islands are in the South Pacific Ocean, northeast of New Zealand, between French Polynesia and American Samoa. There are 15 major islands spread over 2.2 million km² of sea, isolated into two dissimilar bunches: the Southern Cook Islands and the Northern Cook Islands of coral atolls.

The islands were shaped by volcanic movement; the northern aggregation is more senior and comprises of six atolls, which are sunken volcanoes bested by coral development. The atmosphere is direct to tropical.

The 15 islands and two reefs are bunched as accompanies:
  • Southern Cook Islands:
    • Nga-pu-Toru ("Three Roots", the eastern islands):
    • Atiu (Enua Manu or Island of Birds)
    • Ma'uke (Akatokamanava)
    • Mitiaro (Nukuroa)
    • Takutea
  • Northern Cook Islands:
    • Manihiki (Te Fuinga o Niva)
    • Nassau (Te Nuku o Ngalewu )
    • Penrhyn Island (Tongareva or Mangarongaro)
    • Pukapuka (Te Ulu o te Watu)
    • Rakahanga (Tapuahua)
    • Suwarrow moreover called Suvorov
    • Tema Reef (submerged)
  • Different islands: 
    • Aitutaki (Araura Enua)
    • Mangaia (Auau Enua)
    • Rarotonga (Tumutevarovaro), with the capital, Avarua.
    • Palmerston Island (Pamati) in some cases gathered with the Northern Group.
    • Manuae
    • Winslow Reef (submerged) 


The dialects of the Cook Islands incorporate English, Cook Islands Māori, or "Rarotongan," and Pukapukan. Lingos of Cook Islands Maori incorporate Penrhyn; Rakahanga-Manihiki; the Ngaputoru lingo of Atiu, Mitiaro, and Mauke; the Aitutaki tongue; and the Mangaian tongue. Cook Islands Maori and its logic variants are nearly identified with both Tahitian and to New Zealand Māori. Pukapukan is recognized nearly identified with the Samoan dialect. English and Cook Islands Maori are official dialects of the Cook Islands. 


  • The national bloom of the Cook Islands is the Tiare māori or Tiale māoli (Penrhyn, Nassau, Pukapuka).
  • The Cook Islands have an imposing non-local inhabitants present of Kiore toka (Ship rat). and Polynesian rat
  • The rats have incredibly lessened the flying creature inhabitant total on the islands.
  • In April 2007, 27 Kuhl's Lorikeet were re-acquainted with Atiu from Rimatara. Fossil and oral customs show that the species was once on no less than five islands of the southern aggregation. Intemperate abuse for its red quills is the in all probability explanation behind the species' termination in the Cook Islands.  

Miss Cook Islands 2012:

No comments:

Post a Comment


Blogger news



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...